BTF: Self Assessment

Within the module my work developed through actively taking pictures of the eyes and trying different lighting techniques. I learned that the best way to photograph an eye with a medium format Hasselblad was to use a ring flash rather than hard lights or soft boxes to get the result I wanted. At first I was mainly interested in the iris patterns in the eyes and so didn’t want the flash to effect this, as even with using Photoshop it’s hard to edit the flash out. By using the ring flash, I could focus the light to the pupil, making it easy to edit out. As I was having to use Photoshop to do my editing I also gained confidence and a better knowledge of the software as I don’t use it often. I wanted to use the digital medium format Hasselblad as I don’t often work with digital cameras and thought that it would give me the most detail possible.

For my project The Divine I focused mainly on the philosophy of the Design Argument. This is the religious argument that is used as evidence that God exists. It is based on the theory that because such complex natural objects as the eye exists, it is only possible that someone all-powerful created it. The eye and the watch get compared; the watch is obviously made by a watchmaker and the eye is created by a ‘divine’ watchmaker. It was from this idea which I began to see my eye images in a different way and began to play with the idea of recreating the images with my own hand. The idea was to have the watchmaker and the divine watchmaker coming together. A mix between the man made and the divinely made, tricking the eye into thinking they’re seeing the same thing.

I was also interested in thinking of the camera as a mechanical eye and the relationship between my eye, the mechanical eye (the camera) and the subjects eye. When photographing mine and the subject’s eyes were connected through the camera, without the camera in between us the experience would have been very intimate and possibly uncomfortable. When thinking about how I presented the images this thought made a difference to how big I wanted the images printed.

Although most of my work was created during post-production I found that seeing them printed out made a big difference to the connection I felt. I wanted to experience them in a similar way to how I took them, so I found the photo book is my favourite way to display them as when flicking through the book it feels quite intimate as you’re in close proximity to the images. I also think that by having ten final images for the photo book and on the wall, makes it more interesting and has more on an impact than if there was only a few. Overall I am pleased with how my project has turned out, I think the images display my concept in an interesting and engaging way.

Leave a Reply

