BTF: Exhibition Layouts

exhibition-layout1exhibition-layout2

I wanted to do a couple of exhibition layout mock ups to see what the images will look like in the gallery environment. As they are A4 this is the sort of size i think they will be on the wall. I’m not sure if I’ve got the sizing right, they might appear smaller. I do however think that the layout will work well in the gallery space, even at a smaller size. The second image I included a sample image that had a plinth as I will need one to have my photo book on.

I think by having a smaller size, the image quality is better as they are cropped images from the eyes, but also it will make it so people might have to walk up to them to see what they are which is what I wanted.

exhibition-layout3

I also wanted to see what it would look like if my images were a larger size on the gallery wall. I think if I had more space, or was perhaps a part of a exhibition for less people I would print them this size, or I would instead of having them together spread them about around the room.

I have however become quite fond of the smaller size, because of the better quality of image, although if they were printed out larger the grain would perhaps mask more what you were looking at. They would become more like paintings than photographs I think.

If like that I have ten final images, if there were less I don’t think it would have as much of an impact. However if I perhaps only used one the connection between the photo book and the images on the wall would perhaps be less obvious. If I only had one I would print it out bigger as well, so as I said it would be more grainy and painterly. I am happy with my decision of printing them all out though, and I’m looking forward to seeing how it all looks together.

 

Leave a Reply

