PP2 Workshop: Colour Printing

2016-02-22 16.33.04
Colour prints, complimentary colours

During our workshop on colour printing we were shown the complimentary colours used with colour printing as it is different to that of which a painter would use. Shown above are my prints I made during the workshop to help me understand how the colours compliment each other. In the centre is the neutral print which I did first to allow me to create yellow, green, cyan, blue, magenta and red hues.

The standard set up with the filters that we began with was 55Y and 45M and left the Cyan filter at 0, but to get neutral tones mine ended up being 47Y and 44M. In order to make the image greener, magenta had to be stronger. Cyan’s complimentary colour is red and blues is yellow.

Unlike black and white printing everything you do has to be in pitch black as any colour light will effect the paper, whereas when doing black and white printing you can have a red safety light on.

Colour printing wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be and I now feel confident that I would be able to go in by myself an be able to create good quality prints.

Leave a Reply

